Sign inLaunch App
BTC——·ETH——·GOLD——·NVDA——·SPCX——·SP500——·CC——·BTC——·ETH——·GOLD——·NVDA——·SPCX——·SP500——·CC——·
OCTOPUS ENERGY
Octopus Energy
Energy retailing and generation · London · United Kingdom · Founded · 2015 · ≈ · 11,000 · employees

Octopus Energy Funding — Last Valued at $8.7B

Private

Octopus Energy has raised $3.5B across 7 funding rounds, plus 1 undated round. The latest round valued Octopus Energy at $8.7B post-money.

ProfileValuationFundingCompetitorsStock & IPOHow to invest
Octopus Energy funding · at a glance
Total raised, all rounds
$3.5B
some round sizes not disclosed
Funding rounds
7
plus 1 undated round
Latest round
$8.7B
post-money · Dec 2025
Lead on that event
not disclosed
2025
About Octopus Energy

Octopus Energy has taken in over 1 billion dollars in funding from investors including Origin Energy, Tokyo Gas and CPP Investments, alongside Generation, the sustainable investment fund co-chaired by Al Gore. Lightrock and Galvanise invested in 2024, valuing the company at 9.0 billion dollars.

Funding timeline

The Octopus Energy funding timeline

7 funding rounds, the latest highlighted.

2015
Octopus Energy founded

Octopus Energy was founded in 2015, United Kingdom.

UNDATED
Series G

No date is disclosed for this round.

MAY 2020
Origin Energy 20% stake

A$507 million for a 20% stake, reported to make Octopus a unicorn (value in excess of £1 billion). Led by Origin Energy.

Valuation basisAmountPrice / shareLeadOrigin Energy
DEC 2020
Tokyo Gas 9.7% stake + Origin follow-on at $2.1B post-money

Tokyo Gas paid $193M for a 9.7% stake; Origin invested a further $50M at the same time to maintain its 20% stake. $243M raised, led by Tokyo Gas.

Valuation basispost-moneyAmount$243MPrice / shareLeadTokyo Gas
SEP 2021
Generation Investment Management 13% stake at $4.6B post-money

A primary round — the company sells new shares to investors it selects. $600M raised, led by Generation Investment Management.

Valuation basispost-moneyAmount$600MPrice / shareLeadGeneration Investment Management
DEC 2021
CPP Investments partnership at $5B post-money

A primary round — the company sells new shares to investors it selects. $300M raised, led by Canada Pension Plan Investment Board.

Valuation basispost-moneyAmount$300MPrice / shareLeadCanada Pension Plan Investment Board
DEC 2023
Existing-shareholder round at $8B post-money

Existing holders. $800M raised.

Valuation basispost-moneyAmount$800MPrice / shareLead
JAN 2024
Lightrock/Galvanise round at $9B post-money

Invited institutions. Led by Lightrock, Galvanise.

Valuation basispost-moneyAmountPrice / shareLeadLightrock, Galvanise
DEC 2025LATEST
Kraken Spinoff Funding at $8.7B post-money

A primary round — the company sells new shares to investors it selects. $1B raised.

Valuation basispost-moneyAmount$1BPrice / shareLead
IPO: NOT ANNOUNCED

No filing has been made.

Funding rounds

Octopus Energy funding rounds in full

7 dated rounds, newest first.

Round
Date
Amount
Valuation
Price / share
Lead investors
Participation
Kraken Spinoff Funding LATEST
Dec 2025
$1B
$8.7Bpost-money
—
—
—
Lightrock/Galvanise round
Jan 2024
—
$9Bpost-money
—
Lightrock, Galvanise
invited institutions
Existing-shareholder round
Dec 2023
$800M
$8Bpost-money
—
—
existing holders
CPP Investments partnership
Dec 2021
$300M
$5Bpost-money
—
Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
—
Generation Investment Management 13% stake
Sep 2021
$600M
$4.6Bpost-money
—
Generation Investment Management
—
Tokyo Gas 9.7% stake + Origin follow-on
Dec 2020
$243M
$2.1Bpost-money
—
Tokyo Gas
Tokyo Gas paid $193M for a 9.7% stake; Origin invested a further $50M at the same time to maintain its 20% stake
Origin Energy 20% stake
May 2020
—
—
—
Origin Energy
A$507 million for a 20% stake, reported to make Octopus a unicorn (value in excess of £1 billion)
Series G
—
$550M
—
—
—
USD 325,000,000 from existing shareholders; USD 225,000,000 from CPP Investments
Octopus Energy · investors

Investors

LightrockLEADGalvaniseLEADCanada Pension Plan Investment BoardLEADGeneration Investment ManagementLEADTTokyo GasLEADOrigin EnergyLEADOOctopus Group

Frequently asked questions

How can I get exposure to Octopus Energy?›

The routes section explains what is realistically available for a company at this stage.

Is Octopus Energy publicly traded?›

No. Octopus Energy is a private company; its shares do not trade on a public exchange.

What is Octopus Energy's valuation?›

The last valuation is $8.7B (post-money, Dec 2025).

Who has invested in Octopus Energy?›

Lead investors for each round are in the funding timeline.

Who are Octopus Energy's competitors?›

The closest energy retailing and generation peers are on the competitors page.

Keep exploring
More in Energy Retailing And Generation
Adarx competitorscompetitors›Addepar valuationvaluation›ActiveCampaign funding historyfunding›ADVASA profilecompany · profile›All companiesdirectory›
Learn
Stock perps vs tokenized stocksconcept›RWA perpetualsmarkets · index›Perpetuals vs futuresconcept›What is a perpetual?guide · perpetuals basics›All Learn guideslearn · index›
Listed on Canborsa
Cerebras Systems (CBRS)US equity · perp›ChangXin Memory Technologies (CXMT)Asian equity · perp›SpaceX (SPCX)US equity · perp›NVIDIA (NVDA)US equity · perp›All 86 marketsindex›
Index · Perpetual · 30x

Trade SP500-PERP on Canborsa

S&P 500 · the Canborsa market closest to Octopus Energy
0.07% per side—Launch App ›SP500 market
SpaceXAnthropicChainalysisAnimoca BrandsWayveAll companies ›
© Canborsa 2026TermsPrivacy